Home

The Wittgenstein Initiative is a Vienna-based international forum that aspires to make present in the city of his birth Ludwig Wittgenstein, one of the greatest thinkers and most remarkable individuals of the 20th century. We aim to demonstrate Wittgenstein’s present-day relevance in various areas of public and private life and bring his cultural legacy to the general public.

News

Wittgenstein in Swansea

Ludwig Wittgenstein and Philosophy at Swansea by Alan Sandry Ludwig Wittgenstein’s association with Swansea University came about through his relationship…
read more

Infrastructure funds allocated to the Wittgenstein Archive at University of Bergen

The Wittgenstein Archive (WAB) has been awarded 1,670,000 NOK (about 167,000 EUR) for quality assurance and updating of…
read more

Marianne Heske: Icebreaker

Marianne Heske: ICEBREAKER Outdoor sound installation https://kunstnerneshus.no/utstillinger/marianne-heske-icebreaker "The piece is inspired from my childhood and native fjord, and…
read more

Ludwig Wittgenstein: Dictating Philosophy

Ludwig Wittgenstein: Dictating Philosophy To Francis Skinner – The Wittgenstein-Skinner Manuscripts Editors: Gibson, Arthur, O'Mahony, Niamh Ann (Eds.) Is a…
read more

VIDEO Misreading Wittgenstein: Kenneth Goldsmith’s I Declare a Permanent State of Happiness

read more

LIVESTREAM Discussion 17 December 2020: MISREADING WITTGENSTEIN

Thursday, 17 December 2020, 18:30 GMT (19:30 CET) ARTISTS' RESPONSE TO WITTGENSTEIN Part 2 MISREADING WITTGENSTEIN: Kenneth Goldsmith's I…
read more

VIDEO: Wittgenstein’s Word Book – Wörterbuch für Volksschulen in English


read more

Discussion 11 December 2020: WORD BOOK Wittgenstein’s Wörterbuch für Volksschulen in English

Friday, 11 December 2020, 17:30 GMT (18:30 CET) ARTISTS' RESPONSE TO WITTGENSTEIN Part 1 WORD BOOK Wittgenstein's Wörterbuch für…
read more

Tractatus Odyssey virtual exhibition in Tehran

1 December 2020 Austrian Cultural Forum in Tehran Wittgenstein_Ausstellung_Seiten
teheran Wittgenstein Symposium Poster and Program
read more

VIDEO: Wittgenstein’s Heirs and Editors. A thrilling story of philosophical inheritance


read more

LIVESTREAM Discussion 15 November 2020: WITTGENSTEIN’S HEIRS AND EDITORS

Sunday, 15 November 2020, 17:00 GMT (18:00 CET) Wittgenstein’s Heirs and Editors (Cambridge University Press 2020). A thrilling story…
read more

VERSCHOBEN Workshop. Ludwig Wittgenstein im Österreich der Zwischenkriegszeit.

Workshop Die Zeit der Unkultur. Ludwig Wittgenstein im Österreich der Zwischenkriegszeit 5.-6. November 2020 Institut für Wissenschaft und…
read more

„What is the use of studying philosophy if it does not improve your thinking about the important questions of everyday life?"

Ludwig Wittgenstein to Norman Malcolm, 1944